365 Writing Prompts, Day 1: Stroke of Midnight

Where were you last night when 2013 turned into 2014? Is that where you’d wanted to be?

Well since it is TECHNICALLY January 1st, 2014 on the East Coast I will answer my first writing prompt of the year.

As of right now and for the whole night actually I stayed in the house. Oh no, not because I wanted to just be a spoil sport and stay in. I wanted to keep my daughter on her scheduled bedtime. You can’t take a one year way off their schedule to the point where they are out of the house until 2 in the morning. Well, I guess you could do that because it’s a “holiday” tomorrow and “they will get over it.” Though I’d like to think of myself as a mother who takes into consideration her child’s demeanor while out past her bedtime and her comfortability when she attempts to go to sleep. I saw no acceptable option for either of those things so we stayed in, I put her to sleep and then stayed up.

I wanted to go to my New Year’s Eve church service, to be with all of our family and friends and attend IHOP afterwards. However, not being able to attend didn’t ruin my night, other things ruined my night, but I was happy to receive calls and texts from my loved ones.

Boring yes, but satisfying enough to know God has blessed me (and all of us!) with another year!

Happy New Years!

2 thoughts on “365 Writing Prompts, Day 1: Stroke of Midnight

Leave a Reply

