365 Writing Prompts, Day 4: Quote Me

Do you have a favorite quote that you return to again and again? What is it, and why does it move you?

 

I think my favorite quote right now that encourages me even when I’m feeling low was said by Andy Warhol in a mini interview that we watched in class.

He stated, “If you wait until you’re inspired to do artwork, then it’ll never get done.”

When I heard him say that I immediately admired him, I never particularly “loved” his artwork though I thought it served purpose in the art world and was unique. But this statement moved me because I realized how much I had procrastinated when I was at home and said, “I don’t ‘feel’ like painting today.” He made me realize I may never FEEL like it, but I have to do it and should do it anyway if this is what I love.

So, whenever I’m not feeling inspired about what I’ve started or a project I’m thinking about I push through those feelings and do it anyway.

Leave a Reply

