365 Writing Prompts, Day 7: Helpless

Helplessness: that dull, sick feeling of not being the one at the reins. When did you last feel like that– and what did you do about it?

I guess you can say I feel like this right now. 

I would have posted this earlier, but my daughter (sorry) has had diarrhea for THREE days, resulting in her getting a rash and seriously hurting her to the point where she didn’t feel comfortable walking. I was so sad for her when I changed her diaper and saw it, being a first time mom, it’s really hard to know some of the things that will happen and when they do what to do about it. When she gets sick I have a feeling of helplessness especially in times like now because I know there’s hardly anything I can do to help her. January proves not to be a good month for her. Last year her conditions were worse, she had trouble breathing, so we took her to the emergency room and she had to stay there for a week. 

You want to talk about helplessness? Aw man, I cried for days because there was nothing I could do to help her breathe better and feel less pain. But I was so happy that we got her to the hospital when we did otherwise the doctor and my grandmother (RN) said that she could have died if we didn’t notice it. 

I would be grateful if the month of January just disappeared. lol

Leave a Reply

