365 Writing Prompts: Ripped from the Headlines

Head to your favorite online news source. Pick an article with a headline that grabs you. Now, write a short story based on that article.

 

So I was just walking down the street, I had just parked my car in my garage, and was walking to my best friend’s house in the Beverly Hills area. As I walking, I happened to see “Kimye”, so you know I immediately took my phone out and a snapped a couple pictures. I kept it classy, not to catch their attention or anything. We all know how Kanye is about cameras, he tries to punch everyone in sight because he feels like it’s an invasion of privacy or something. Whatever. Anyway, today was a different day for Kanye, one that people actually might respect him for I would even dare to say. I walked slower because I didn’t want to be one of “those people” and speed walk around them, so I kept my distance. All of a sudden, a white guy on the other side of the street yells, “Just like a nigger to be with a hoe like that!”

That was all that he needed to say. Kanye immediately rushed over to him after hearing him spout harmful and also racial slurs and punched him across the jaw. Kim screamed at him to stop, when we noticed that the guy was sprawled across the sidewalk. She turned to me, and actually spoke, “He deserved it.” I nodded. It was all I could do, I actually did think he deserved it being African American myself. I just knew that it would eventually come back to haunt Kanye like everything does. Two days later I saw the article on TMZ, stating the guy was 18 years old. He was a little young, but still legal.

Yes we have “freedom of speech” in America. Although, people do need to realize that freedom of speech can result in consequences you can do nothing about if you say disrespectful things to people.

Leave a Reply

