365 Writing Prompts: Sweet Sixteen

When you were 16, what did you think your life would look like? Does it look like that? Is that a good thing?

 

At 16 I think right now I imagined myself at MICA earning a degree in Environmental/Interior Design. Something that I thought I would love to do because of my enthusiasm of creating floor plans and houses out of cardboard when I was younger. I just assumed that this was the career path for me because of previous interests.

However, because I had my daughter I had to relocate for schools, I never ended up at MICA, but still at a art college. I now attend a community college but still doing something in the field of art. Although Graphic Design is totally different from Interior Design I actually think this was a better fit for me. This career choice will allow me to have fun and create lots of different things. I think it’s way more hands on and possibilities are endless similar to just regularly creating art. Which I find liberating and exciting. 

Even though all the change I had to go through was sudden, as well as humbling. But I really do believe that this was the right direction for me instead of the latter. 

Leave a Reply

